And now for something completely different….

Despite running ~32 miles/month for the past 9 months, I am still not where I want to be in terms of my body.  I’m a size 8, as I always was, just a wee bit more trim that only I seem to notice.  My goal in life has always been to “be toned” and I’ve never actually gotten there.  They say doing the same thing will only produce the same results, so I’ve decided to do something about it: starting Monday (15 March 2010) I am going to do the Smash Fat Diet.

It’s not so much as a diet as it is a lifestyle change.  I don’t do math well, so I don’t count calories or keep a pace count when I’m running.  It’s building on a foundation of fruits and vegetables, slowly adding lean meats, whole grains, breads, pastas, alcohol, and sweets (which is my kryptonite) – everything in moderation, of course.  I’d love to lose 10-15lbs. I’ve coupled this with Pilates with Kathy Smith DVDs, weights, and of course, running.  I’m going to cancel my gym membership, too.  I’d much rather exercise outside or in my living room.

My favorite workout video is One Tree Hill – I’m borrowing all the seasons from a friend.  I love being able to watch TV and do something productive at the same time.  I can’t wait til Season 4 of Mad Men is on!

I’m not sure if it will work or if I’ll even be able to stick to it, but I think it’s worth a try.  Bikini season, here I come!

Leave a Reply

