A New Era

Today is the 1st day that the General is on a new platoon.  We’ve always been in the same company, and now that cute guy I used stare at from across the way has moved onto another assignment.  It still hasn’t sunk in yet.  The house is so quiet now without him here.

It reminds me of my 8th grade year when our school system went onto split shifts — class didn’t start til 1045.  I had the whole morning to myself, a beautiful thing in a chaotic household.  While I embraced it then, now it just seems lonely.  I love my General and I love my alone time – but I still wish he was here.  This will be a positive change for us and our marriage – it’s just something to get used to.

The in-laws were down from the great white north and we had a blast with them.  They are such down to earth people, I really enjoyed having them here. I now understand how my General got to be so freakin’ cool.

Had our housewarming party, which went really well.  I spent yesterday sick – all day, with most of the night.  I will stick with my General and less Captain.  Yikes.  I wore my alma mater t-shirt yesterday in honor of not being so stupid since my college days.

I need a beach day – perhaps tomorrow.  I hope the surf is good.

Leave a Reply

