Mini Sermon

Completely switching gears….

I am currently reading through the book of John in my quiet time and I stumbled upon this verse:

“Do you want to be made well?” (John 5:6)

Jesus was speaking to a disabled person at Bethesda.  It really struck me because so often we don’t want to be “made well” –  at least it’s true in my world sometimes.

It’s so often we don’t want to change.  Bless this sin, Lord, I am living for you except this one little thing that’s not so bad, really.

It’s also that on our part, we have to accept Jesus.  We have to want Him in our life.  Just like not taking medicine to cure a disease  – we have to take the medicine in order for it to work.  It does no good to get the Rx and then let it sit in the cupboard (as I often do), just as it doesn’t do any good to “accept Jesus” and do nothing with it or let Him change us for His kingdom.

The Lord has already extended Himself to us, it’s up to us to accept and WANT to be made well.

With that said, I think I am (finally) going to volunteer at church doing something I said I would NEVER do: work in the nursery.  I’ve seen pictures of babies and I know people who have had babies and I’ve seen a few in my time from a distance, but never actually interacted with anything under the age of 5.  I’d almost like toddlers better.  I’ve felt a tug towards that, I figure I’ll throw in my hat and see where it lands.  After almost 5 years, despite my ridiculous schedule, I think it’s time I did something at church.

So, yes, I want to be made well and hopefully direct others towards the Father.

One thought on “Mini Sermon

  1. I love hearing stories of how God is working in the lives of others. It’s the most encouraging thing ever!! =)

Leave a Reply

