High School Reunion

It’s like High School Musical, but with less singing, choreographed dancing, and the players have not been screened through the eyes of a Disney casting director.

This October I will be attending my 10th high school reunion.  Scary, huh?  It’s crazy how the time goes so fast.  I feel so old, yet so young at the same time.  I’ve kept in touch with those that were close in high school, although a few have fallen off my radar as the years wore on.  That’s to be expected, I guess.

Anyway, at the end of senior year, our school newspaper ran “predictions” of where we would be after high school.  The reunion coordinator posted them.  Here’s what I wrote (I excluded my name and university):

Did they come true?  Almost.

  • 2000:  Went on with my Clinical Laboratory Sciences degree and graduated on time in 2004.
  • 2005:  I was living alone in a 1 bedroom apartment in another cornfield (it took an hour drive to get to Target….not so much on the big city part).  It was far away – about 3 hours from home.  I wasn’t happy there so I accepted a job here in NC in late 2005.
  • 2010:  I am working as a medical technologist!  Go me!
  • 2020:  4 boys?!?!  I’m still not sure what I was thinking – I’ll be 39!  My chances of having kids are very, very low.  Amusing, nonetheless.  I still plan on rocking out in the lab, tho.
  • Ah, stage crew.  I still get theatre sick and I medicate myself by volunteering for Cucalorus (huge film fest here in Wilmington) every year.  It’s not enough, but my schedule is so weird I can’t keep normal people hours.  I miss the backstage life so much.

I’ve changed a lot since high school, too.  I’m still who I am at my core, but I have a much better sense of self, my experiences have changed me for the better, and the Lord has taught me much in this past decade.  It should be interesting to see everyone and where life has taken us.

Leave a Reply

