11 September 2001

I slept in that morning.  As a college sophomore, who ranked as a Cadet Sergeant, I enjoyed my Tuesday morning because I didn’t have PT aka Physical Training aka Physical Torture at 0600 to do 100 push-ups in 2 minutes while yelling, “Hoowah!”

The local rock station had a funny radio show on in the morning, sometimes it got raunchy, but most of the time it was pretty funny.  That particular morning they were talking about planes flying into the World Trade Center and were kinda serious about it.  I was disgusted they would even joke about something like that.  I turned off the radio, paused for a moment, wondering if it was true.  I turned on CNN and my eyes popped out of my head.  This couldn’t be happening.

My boyfriend at the time’s mom worked in a school not far from the Pentagon.  We couldn’t reach her.  I called my parents — it was all so odd. What do you say?  How do you react?  It’s like the bottom dropped out of our world.

I went to class at 1000 – Human Biology.  We all just kinda sat there, dumbfounded.  The teacher, who was distraught as well, cancelled class after about 20 minutes.

Classes were cancelled for a block of the time next day for a rally on the Quad.  It was amazing to see practically the whole student body there, united.  My boyfriend stayed back in the dorms to play online RPGs.  I couldn’t believe it.  Here was history being made and there he was, on a quest for something that doesn’t exist nor matter.

I was in ROTC Color Guard, and for the next football game, the silent reverence was something I will never forget.  Here I was in a packed stadium and it was as quiet as if I was alone.  All hats were off, all hands on hearts, and it was an amazing, very sad moment in time that will forever stay with me.

One thought on “11 September 2001

  1. I don’t remember the rally, but I do remember an evening prayer vigil in Capen. Funny the things that stick and the things that don’t!

Leave a Reply

