Ding-dong!

My doorbell went off moments ago.  It’s mid-morning on a Monday, I’m off again today and I wasn’t expecting anything.  I tiptoe down the stairs, like I’m that chick in horror movie, to look through the peephole.  I have a rule: I will open the door if I think I could win against the doorbell ringer in a fight.  2 middle-aged ladies were standing on my front porch.  I saw one of them carrying what I thought was a Bible, the other a clipboard.  Oh no, Jehovah’s Witnesses?!  I decided not to find out.  They stood on my porch for a long moment talking, but I couldn’t hear through the door what they were saying; they left after another moment.  I wouldn’t be a good candidate for their chat: “Hi, I’m a saved Christian, thank you very much, and I don’t understand what you people have against cells that carry oxygen.”  Yeah, if that’s what they were, it’s best just to pretend nobody’s home.

Ah, the random things that happen to me

One thought on “Ding-dong!

  1. “Yeah, if that’s what they were, it’s best just to pretend nobody’s home.”

    (1 Peter 3:15) 15 But sanctify the Christ as Lord in YOUR hearts, always ready to make a defense before everyone that demands of YOU a reason for the hope in YOU, but doing so together with a mild temper and deep respect.

Leave a Reply

