Time being of the essence

I took yet another roadtrip (!) the other day, this time to Charlotte, to see off a dear college buddy of mine who will spend the next 6 months as a missionary in the African jungle working with school children.  Her name is Alice.

We went to our favorite traditional restaurant from our Illinoisan homeland: Steak n Shake.  I ate way more than I should have, but it was worth it.  We caught up with each other’s lives and the lives of mutual friends, and of course, talked about her upcoming trip of a lifetime.  Our conversation quickly drifted to the future.

Where would we be in 6 months?

This trip is going to change and challenge Alice in many ways I’m sure we can’t even fathom at this point in time.

Where will I be in 6 months?  How will I be changed and challenged?

One of my biggest issues is control and fear of the future.  I’m so much better if I know.  I don’t care if it’s good or bad, I just want to know what lies ahead.  I know it’s a God thing, it is totally up to Him and I have to let go and allow His plan to unfold.

I always worry the Lord will not give me what I want (in terms of abstract, not physical/monetary means), that He’ll give me a vase of fake flowers instead of one beautiful live rose – I certainly don’t deserve it.  As I look back at my life, His provision has always left me satisfied.

Our pastor says the Lord will give us everything we need to fulfill His plan for our lives.  And while I won’t be battling malaria or bugs as big as my head, I will have things here to enliven me.  What will they be?

After all, time is of the essence.

One thought on “Time being of the essence

  1. Pingback: 6 months time « stories from the waves

Leave a Reply

