Adventitious

I ran over 40 miles this month.  That is going to be my new goal: instead of averaging 30 miles, I’m going to shoot for 40.  I’m pretty sure my knees could take it.

I need to start cross training.  I have an old bike here that I’m going to ride – mostly to the beach – about 16 miles round trip.  I’m afraid I’m going to mess myself up by not doing anything other than running.

My place of employment is morphing into a new computer system; literatly, we’re moving from a DOS interface (Abort, retry, fail?  Most definitely fail.) to a Windows based program!  The transition is going to be a disaster of epic proportions, and that’s if everything goes well, but once the kinks and programs are re-coded, it will be a wonderful tool that will make our jobs easier.

Due to the sense of impending doom, I am going on a wine/crepe/nutella bender tonight.  I deserve it.

I’ve decided not to use the Fahrenheit system anymore.  Everything I have that has a temperature on it is now in Celsius.  Instead of trying to translate what 45F is into Celsius, I’ve just started associating Celsius temperatures with how it is outside.  Like today it’s 9C.  Chilly, but warm enough to run.  The only problem is when I’m conversing with other people about the weather.  “Oh, it’s going to be 15 tomorrow, finally some warm weather!”  People look at me weird, like I just stepped off the plane from Chicago — well, in Chicago, sometimes 15F is considered “warming up” —  it’s been a fun experiment.  The General is starting to learn it too, but not by choice.  Heeheee.

Kim Kardashian and I are equally proportioned.   She’s 5’2 and I’m a daunting 5’7, but my measurements are 2″ bigger than hers all around.  Weird.  Gotta love the butt!

I need to go surfing.  I dreamt last night of the perfect waves.  The water temp is still too cold for my wetsuit.

By eating small portions of basically anything I want + using self-control in terms of chocolate, I am losing weight.  I’ve lost 3 pounds this month.

My new favorite desert?  OMG.  Banana + chocolate syrup + whipped cream.  It’s like a banana split without the ice cream and I am in love!  The past few nights at work have been long (14 hours) and I reward myself once I get home with this banana split.  Okay, 2 of them.  But it was 3 am, I was hungry, and it was better than drinking half a bottle of wine.  Or rum.  Bananas are about 100 calories, and the whipped cream and chocolate syrup are so low, it’s not worth counting.

My nieces are a bad influence on me.  Now when I’m home alone, I find myself watching the Disney channel.  Yoga + Disney shows are fun.

Making Nutella crepes tonight, so I have a rather large jar on my kitchen counter.  I had to do the “quality control” upon unpacking it from my bag — and now I’m a little sick.  I think I just took in a day’s worth of calories.  Whew, that stuff is rich, but it tastes so darn good.  I don’t keep it in the house because it will disappear.

So yeah….that’s about it.

 

 

 

One thought on “Adventitious

Leave a Reply

