The blood of Christ is O negative – anyone can get it

As I was working on my front yard (the war on weeds continues on), The General and I were approached by 2 older women.

Oh no, here we go again.  Jehovah’s Witnesses.

They were very kind and instead of trying to convert random people to their religion, it was simply a hand delivered invite to their Easter service.  They mainly talked to The General who nodded and smiled and let her say her piece about how Christ died and was raised again by the Father.  I was too busy wrangling a rather large weed to stop and make eye contact, but they were close enough for me to hear.

He explained we are Christians who walk with Christ, the church we attend, and politely declined their invite.  It was all very nice.

2 things occured to me:

1.  Maybe I should attend a JW service to see what it’s all about, more from a curiosity prospective — I’m non denomination Christian and that ain’t changing!  But it’s been awhile since I’ve been in a situation where I’m uncomfortable with the worship or completely out of my element.

2.  The Jehovah’s Witnesses should start hospitals, much like Catholics and other Protestants.  They don’t believe in blood transfusions and I’m not a blood banker by any means, so I could totally rock their lab as a director.  Granted anyone non-JW with a trauma, childbirth, anemia, gastrointestinal bleed, or severely low blood pressure probably wouldn’t want to go there, but still I think it could be an interesting business venture.

Next time they stop by my house I’m ready.  I’m going to ask them to explain to me, in their own words, what’s so terrible about blood transfusions and how their religious views contrast with basic Christianity.  Oh, I’m sure I could look all this up on the internet, but I think it’d be more interesting to hear it from them and dialogue about it.  I’m really bad at Christian apologetics, so I’d listen more than I’d talk.

My doorbell awaits.

“But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ.” (Ephesians 2:13)

Leave a Reply

