Låt den rätte komma in

My husband, who has a taste for the vampire genre, rented a random movie off of Netflix that involved Swedish vampires: Let the Right One In.  After spending a week in Stockholm 2 years ago, he’s taking quite a liking to the Swedish culture.

It’s a weird drama, and  m o v e s  r e a l l y  s l o w, so make sure you’re drinking some sort of caffeinated beverage while watching it.  Although it was filmed in Sweden, I found it odd they were speaking in English (English is spoken there as well). It was then that I realized the movie was overdubbed.

I was offended.

I don’t think I’ve ever watched an overdubbed film. I’m all about subtitles and keeping the voices with their proper character, as the director would have seen it.  I would have rather watched it with English subtitles.  It really bothered me.  I almost want to watch it again with subtitles, but I’m not sure if I could….once was enough.

Leave a Reply

