What now?

I got my college degree.  I found a good paying job in this economy.  I have an amazing husband and we live in our dream house.

I have arrived.  Now what?

Society says kids.  I’m not so sure that’s what the Lord has in store for us.  Or is it?  Either way, it’s not up to me.  And I am lucky enough not to have a biological clock that ticks.

As my 30’s loom just around the bend, I wonder what this decade of life will bring.  The teens and twentys were time of massive change and figuring out the world.  While I still have some growing to do, I am basically, for all intensive purposes, a grown up.  I pay taxes.  I pay a mortgage.  I drink wine.  And I’m not sure what to expect in my 30’s.

It all slows down, is what my small group (women in their 50’s) and the General (my favorite quadragenarian) say, and just live.  Slows down?  Sure, I won’t be running off to party like I did; school is long over and done with; I have no plans of leaving my husband, he’s too freakin’ awesome.  I have my career set, and as long as I toe the line, I am have a job.  And as long as said job stays, I am able to keep my house.

I don’t know if it’s just me, but I am not ready to “slow down.”  I’m ready for the next big adventure, whatever that is.  I don’t even have a set goal for life right now — which is weird for me and hard to comprehend.  I always have a plan.  I’m at the mercy of the waves, wherever the Lord takes me.  Freeing, in some ways; a little scary about the lack of plan in others.

I am going to begin my 30’s on a cruise to the Bahamas.  Woo hoo!!  It’s booked, we just have to show up.  Yay!  By the end of my 30’s, if my family is any predictor, I will go through full menopause.  That ought to be interesting.  I’m sure I’ll be more secure in who I am, both in myself and the Lord – but I wonder what events will shape that?

I refuse to believe my 30’s will just be one big decade of “meh, life.”  What will the Lord bring?  Whatever it is, hang onto your bra strap, it’s going to be crazy.  Simply because it’s me – and I’m probably drinking wine.

One thought on “What now?

Leave a Reply

