Things I don’t remember of 9/11

I don’t remember the interactions I had with my friends, floormates, or the boyfriend (Lys) of that day.  It didn’t phase him – and it didn’t phase me – I was more upset at the needless loss of life and those left behind more than anything.  New York wasn’t on my radar.  I didn’t know anyone in that area.

I don’t remember the afternoon or much of the next day, outside of the lieutenant colonel of ROTC getting us together in a group at PT and telling us a) not to worrry and b) we were gonna git ’em.

I don’t remember the days/weeks that followed.  I got on a plane that following March to Reagan National in DC with Lys to visit his mom in Virginia.  Didn’t think twice about it.  In 2004, on my 1st trans-Atlantic flight to Germany, I sat across the aisle from a group of Muslims in full garb.  Again, I didn’t think anything of it.  I remember looking over their shoulder to see the book they were reading was in Arabic; what looked like scribbles to me was their language.

This Sunday, our church marked the 10th anniversary with a service dedicated to that fateful morning.  One of our church members was a fire fighter than responded that day and he talked about what happened.  I went to church alone that morning and the air felt thick.  I prefer to be alone on the heavy days.  I sat in the back, on the floor, and tried not to tear up at certain points.

Half of guys I’ve, um, “kissed” have been firemen.   What can I say?  I have a thing for EMTs.  (And I married a tertiary responder, ha!)  I look at things differently now than I did back then; perhaps because I’ve experienced more of the world, got the inside track to a fire fighter’s thoughts, and spent a vast amount of time in an emergency room where tragedy occurs on a near daily basis.

I also do not remember this.  I just found it, ironically enough, on 11 September.  WTF?

So much has changed, yet so much hasn’t.  Isn’t that the way 10 years always goes by?

One thought on “Things I don’t remember of 9/11

Leave a Reply

