“The past 120 hours” (or otherwise entitled, a sonnet for my gastrointestinal tract)

Chicken salad for dinner sounded so good
A few hours later I wasn’t feeling quite right
I threw up much more than I thought I could
Oh my goodness this is going to be a long night
Alas, my job I had to stay
No one else could run the machine
So sick, I wasn’t going to be there the next day
Why oh why was my stomach so mean?
Spent the next few days trying to feel well
Lost 5# of muscle and water, but no fat
It had been since a college party that I felt hell
Food poisoning or a bug —  it this was this or that
Fully recovered and back to running 4 miles
Life is good again with laughter and smiles

Leave a Reply

