From Madison Avenue to the Yorkshire Country

As you may already know, I have what some would refer to as an obsession with Mad Men.  The literary part of me is so drawn to the storyline – you could write a term paper on each episode alone.  I love it.  I can’t wait until 25 March when Season 5 debuts.  I am so excited that my one other friend who’s also a maddict, I have already made plans with her to come over and watch it.  It’s been off the air for over a year and a half now and it’s high time we get our fix back to the show.

I’ve tried to fill the void with other shows, most notably One Tree Hill, simply because it was filmed here and I can identify most of the exterior shots. And the story is somewhat stuck in my head.  (If you follow the series, my husband and I were married in the foyer of Victoria’s New York house – The Graystone Inn.  It also doubled as the funeral parlor where Dan was dead in a dream sequence from like season 2 or 3.)  The only problem I had was when Brooke found out she was pregnant because of a lab mix up.  Honestly, what they said happened WOULD NEVER HAPPEN.  Anyway….

After watching Mad Men season 4 for the 2nd time, I needed another show.  I kept hearing good things about Downton Abbey, another period piece about England 100 years ago.  The show opens with the sinking of the Titanic (April 1912).  The General and I settled in on the couch last night and watched 2 episodes.

I’m hooked.

It’s all British drama, so its dry and slow paced, but I’m falling in love with the characters.  It’s a lot like Mad Men where the characters are multidimensional and it goes between the aristocratic family and the servants with interlocking storylines. And the costumes, so spot on.  I can see how it’s gotten several Golden Globes — it’s so well done.  I can’t wait to see what happens next!

It’s also better for my health.  In Mad Men, everyone is drinking hard liquor (cue Captain Morgan).  In Downton, everyone is drinking tea (cue tea ball).

The best line so far?  I love British colloquialisms and use them from time to time at work (“The bloody thing won’t work.”).  The Earl said, “He can ride with Mr. Bates and if he doesn’t like, he can lump it.”  It cracked me up.  Lump it!  I’m so going to use that in a sentence this week.

Leave a Reply

