Faith of a stargazer lily

My favorite flower in the world is a stargazer lily.  I had them in my bouquet at my wedding.

And last year, I planted some stargazer lily bulbs around my mailbox. They were small little things with giant blooms.  They only flowered once and were gone.  As the warm spring approached this year, I was very excited to see if my bulbs would come back.  We have lot of crazy squirrels in the neighborhood.

I waited and waited.  Nothing.  Sometimes my logical side overrules my faith, and so I began to dig.  I dug down to where I had planted them last year to see if the bulb was still there and if it was waking up.  Still nothing.  The bulbs were gone!  I was a bit sad.  The next time I was at the store, I picked up pot of blooming stargazers.  They were perfect and graced the pots on my back deck, right outside our bedroom.  They stayed like this until the squirrels destroyed them.  Stupid squirrels.

Pretty nifty, eh?  I loved the vibrant color – they speak to me.  Despite the fact that I wasn’t really pleased with the whole wedding day bit (but am super happy with the outcome!), this flower symbolizes that union between The General and I.  ::happy sigh::

Fast forward a couple of weeks.  I was walking around the property when I saw it:  right smack dab in the middle of a rehabbing pansy (pansies didn’t like the 1st place they were planted) was a stargazer lily.  WTH!?!?!?  I LOOKED for this, physically got out my trowel and dug deep for signs of bulbs.  But sure enough, it’s one from last year.  It’s the only one that came up, well, so far.  It made me laugh with joy.

This made me smile.  The Lord’s blessings turn up when we don’t expect them; right when we move on, thinking it wasn’t meant to be, BAM! it appears.  Why does He do that?  Maybe so He will get the glory and that it wasn’t of our own doing.  I wondered what kind of metaphor this is for my life.  In what places am I placing a sick pansy when the flower of all flowers will grow?  How much faith do I really have if I must see something?  Or try to replace it?  I stand in awe.  How amazing is the Lord we serve!

“Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these.  Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?” (Matthew 6:28-30)

Leave a Reply

