….and more prayers answered

Because changing jobs is not enough change in one’s life, The General and I have decided to change it up even more.

A friend of ours from one of the churches we’ve been visiting (whom we met before going to this church), is in need of a place to stay. She works a bunch of odd jobs and is on track to get a teaching degree so she can do mission work overseas full time.  She has a huge heart for the Middle East and is learning Arabic as I’m learning German — she’s already been over there, but had to come back because of visa issues (I think).  So in the interim, her current roommate is moving back to the other side of the world, and she doesn’t have the money to live in an apartment by herself.

The General and I bought our dream house. I’m not going to lie: it’s pretty big.  It’s bigger than what 2 professionals without kids need, I suppose. ~2100 square feet of living space.  3100 if you count the unfinished part (no AC/electricity/drywall/floor in some parts).  Ever since I saw this property on the MLS report, this address has been on my prayer list.  If we’re going to get this awesomely neat house, we need to steward it for God. It’s my prayer for the house: use it for the kingdom.

Our prospective roommate, let’s call her Pricilla — like the one who ran around the Middle East with Paul — posted on Facebook she was looking for anyone who might be able to help her out.  I saw it, briefly thought about having her here, and as soon as the thought came, it left.  A few days later, The General mentioned Pricilla’s post.  “Think we should offer her our spare room?” he asked.  “Yes,” I replied.  You’d think we were talking about putting a pizza in the oven.

She came over the other night – she’s a ball of joy.  Seriously.  She can light up a room with her spirit.  She’s one of the most unshakable REAL Christians I’ve met.  Girl is on fire.  Even upon meeting her for the 1st time, I thought, “Wow, this one’s the real deal.”  We gave her a tour of the house and she was in awe.  “Can I think and pray about this?” she asked.   We haven’t heard back from her yet, but hopefully soon.

We’re doing this to help her out: while she’ll help pay the utility bills, obviously, she’s not going to help pay our mortgage.  We’re doing this to help someone along the way.  It was done for us.  And on top of that, we are so incredibly blessed, I want to share that.  I believe this will be a symbiotic relationship: we’ll help take care of her physical needs while she can help us with our spiritual ones.  Since both of us have not ever had a good example of a true Christian marriage, I believe having someone of that spiritual caliber in our home can help facilitate a better relationship with Jesus. Everybody wins.  And God gets the glory.  Can I get an amen?

I will admit a part of me is a bit apprehensive: new job, new roommate — it’s a lot of change all at once.  I love my privacy.  I love walking around naked (there, I said it).  But if I can help someone achieve their dream?  It’s so worth it.  We’ve decided to do this for a couple of months and see how it goes on both ends.  Playing it by ear.

My life motto is the same as Monty Python’s: and now for something completely different.

This verse has often rung in my head.  Isaiah 54:1 is well known among those woman of my station.  But the rest is a bit telling, and we do have a big tent.

“Enlarge the place of your tent,
And let them stretch out the curtains of your dwellings;
Do not spare;
Lengthen your cords,
And strengthen your stakes.
For you shall expand to the right and to the left,
And your descendants will inherit the nations,
And make the desolate cities inhabited.
(Isaiah 54:2-3) 

Leave a Reply

