Happy New Year. Again.

I’m not much of a party person, but when it comes to New Year’s Eve, I am always ready to put on a fancy dress and head out for the night. The last 2 years we’ve spent them with the girls, Miranda, Samantha, and Charlotte at our house.  Lots of food, drink, and dressing up!  While it’s been a blast, it has been done, so this year I was ready for something different – especially since the girls were going our separate ways for New Year’s.

Except I got over-ruled.

The General and our guests out voted me.  We’re getting together with Pat and Kris this year, to which I am super excited about, but it will be here at the house.  This is good: we can drink and not have to worry about driving or the other drunks who will be on the road.  Everyone’s staying here so the party is on!

Sigh. I  don’t care. I’m still getting dressed up to the 9’s.  And bringing in the New Year with my favorite General.  And Captain.

Whenever there’s a big gathering of people, I’ve tried my hand of making a punch or some party drinks for everyone.  This time is no exception: Thanks to the Junior League of Wilmington, I found a recipe to try.  Mind you, I’ve never made this.  I’m using the most hydroxylated carbons, of course.

Azalea Punch
1 (64oz) bottle cranberry juice cocktail or cran-raspberry juice
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup lime juice (I used store bought lemonade cuz I had it on hand….)
3 cups citron vodka or raspberry vodka
1/2 cup orange liquor
1 liter bottle of lemon-lime soda, chilled
2-3 oranges, sliced for garnish

Non-alcoholic substitutions: omit vodka and liqueur.  Stir in 2 pints thawed raspberry sorbet and the soda just before serving

Combine the cranberry juice, sugar, and lime juice in a large freezer-safe container.  Stir in the vodka and liqueur.  Freeze, covered, for 4 hours or until slushy.  Spoon into a punch bowl and add the lemon-lime soda just before serving and mix gently.  Ladle into martini glasses and garnish each with an orange slice.  Serves 16-18.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

Leave a Reply

