Cheerio, Dahling!

Tonight is the night I’ve been waiting for….the American premier of Downton Abbey!!!!!!!!!!!!!  To celebrate the occasion, my friend Samantha is coming over and watching the show with The General and I.  Of course, tea will be served!

I wasn’t sure what to make for tonight – I found a bunch of English cake recipes that while they would be quite tasty, had weird ingredients and seemed too intense for my quiet Sunday afternoon (I feel like I’ve been on vacation this weekend!).

One thing I really loved in England were the scones.  The ones you could buy in the train station were the best.  I was reminded of how much I love English scones while in Ireland this past year.  

I found this recipe at this amazing blog.  I’m going to make buttermilk scones with blueberries in them.  I’m using a variation recipe – there’s a link on the blog – but here’s the quick rundown:

Ultimate Classic Scones

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • ¼ tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. frozen grated butter
  • ½ cup cold milk

Makes 8 x 2” scones

Preheat oven to 475° F

Sift the dry ingredients 3 times into a large bowl. Rub the frozen grated butter into the dry ingredients until it feels like sand.  Add enough milk just until you get a sticky dough.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured board, lightly flour the top. Knead very gently once, then fold and turn the kneaded dough 3 or 4 times until the dough has formed a smooth texture. Pat the dough into a rectangle about 6” x 12”, then fold into thirds.

Using a well-floured 2” biscuit cutter, make 6 x 2” rounds.  You can get 2 more scones from the scraps but they won’t be as tender. Alternatively, use a well-floured sharp knife to form wedges.

You can either brush the top of the scones with milk or lightly flour.

Bake on a baking sheet for 8-10 minutes until the scones are lightly coloured on the tops.  Immediately place onto cooling rack to stop the cooking process.

Traditionally served with clotted cream and preserves,  try a healthier option of non fat plain greek yoghurt with your favorite preserves.

2 thoughts on “Cheerio, Dahling!

Leave a Reply

