Crossing

With My One Word for 2013 being Today (or “heute” in German), I wondered what the Lord would do with it.  I know what I want done…..but what about Him?

So far it’s been a month into the new year and I’m quickly figuring out what He means by Today:  Oh, you have that planned?  Yeah, you’re not doing that.  You’re doing {insert something completely different here}.  As someone who loves surprises, I’m all about random side adventures.  Unfortunately, sometimes, these aren’t always the fun flavor of adventures.  They have included comforting a friend, learning a prediction I made came to pass (not the happy kind), reassuring a parent that their daughter’s lab work doesn’t mean cancer, walking with someone on a road they never intended to be walking on, and having a sex talk with my Dad from a medical standpoint.  There’s been awesome stuff too like exploring downtown Fayetteville, trying out a new restaurant on a whim – Chipolte – super excited one is arriving in Wilmington soon – their veggie tacos are beyond amazing, getting to rock climb again and realize how much I miss it, reminiscing about my long past college days, showing up randomly at a panel discussion/movie, and hearing from an old friend.  It’s been quite a month.

And strangely enough, I should be exhausted.  But I’m not.  While my heart breaks for a few situations, I’m not overburdened or feeling hopelessly overwhelmed.  I truly believe it comes back to Philippians 4:19, “And my God shall supply all your needs according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus.”  He will give me everything I need to accomplish His purposes.  Today.  Just today.  I have coffee with Jesus every morning, which has deepened my relationship with the Lord.  “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.” (Luke 9:23)  For me, in this moment, this “cross daily” bit means not doing what I had planned – and I’m sure as the year wears on, that will change as I change, as situations change.  I’m someone who worries about the future and what it holds, I must admit I am a bit nervous.  But I know His plans are much better than what I have drawn up.   The good, the bad – it’s all for Him.  And so I walk, I carry, knowing that His yoke is easy.

I did not make the following cartoon and I was unable to find a source for it, but I took it off a random webpage.  It really does speak true.

The Cross Walk 02The Cross Walk 03

Leave a Reply

