Bald Head Island

Bald Head Island

A few weekends ago I had the opportunity to head out to one of my favorite places in the world: Bald Head Island, North Carolina.

Bald Head is very different from most islands. First off, there is no bridge to get there. You have to take the ferry. Once you are on the island, there are no motorized vehicles (save for emergency ones) — you have the option of renting an electric golf cart, riding a bike, or walking. Most choose a golf cart as we did….my mom and her friend were in town visiting from Illinois. It’s basically a very large subdivision with beautiful gigantic homes that you only see in those fancy magazines. I’d love to retire there.

Outside of the gift shops, a few restaurants, expensive clothing stores, and an ice cream stand, there isn’t much to do there except to just be.

It’s my favorite place to unhook from life for a day.

Next time I head out there, I plan to do so on a day when I need to be alone and clear my head. I have every intention of renting a bike there and jut winding down wherever the road takes me.

Leave a Reply

